- Discover Indonesia Online

You are currently in > Indonesia > Presidents

The son of a Javanese nobleman and his Balinese wife from Buleleng regency, Sukarno was born in Surabaya (although several sources said he was born in Blitar, East Java) in the Dutch East Indies (now Indonesia). He was admitted into a Dutch-run school as a child. When his father sent him to Surabaya in 1916 to attend a secondary school, he met Tjokroaminoto, a future nationalist. 1921 he begun to (...)

Mohammed Suharto (8 June 1921 – 27 January 2008), second president of Indonesia (1967-1998), who oversaw the country’s unprecedented economic growth and emergence as a regional power. Born to a peasant family in Kemusu, a village near the city of Yogyakarta in central Java (then under Dutch control), Suharto had an unsettled childhood. His parents’ marriage broke up before he was two ye (...)

Bacharuddin Jusuf Habibie was born in Pare-Pare, South Sulawesi, to Alwi Abdul Jalil Habibie and R. A. Tuti Marini Puspowardojo. He studied at the Bandung Institute of Technology for one year. Although BJ. Habibie himself was born in South Sulawesi, B.J. Habibie's parents didn't come from this region. His father was a Gorontalo agriculturist and his mother was a Yogyakarta noblewoman, who met when (...)

Abdurrahman ad-Dakhil Wahid (born 7 September 1940), colloquially known as Gus Dur, is an Indonesian Muslim religious and political leader who served as the President of Indonesia from 1999 to 2001. The long-time president of the Nahdlatul Ulama and the founder of the National Awakening Party (PKB), Wahid was the first elected president of Indonesia after the fall of the Suharto regime in 1998. (...)

Diah Permata Megawati Setiawati Sukarnoputri (born 23 January 1947), was President of Indonesia from July 2001 to 20 October 2004. She was defeated for re-election in the 2004 Indonesian presidential election on 20 September. Some Indonesian sources spell her name Soekarnoputri or Soekarno Putri. Note that Sukarnoputri means "daughter of Sukarno" and it is not the President's surname: J (...)

Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono (born September 9, 1949), Indonesian military commander and politician, is the current President of Indonesia. Susilo won the presidency in September 2004 in the second round of the Indonesian presidential election, in which he defeated incumbent President Megawati Sukarnoputri. He was sworn into office on 20 October 2004. (Javanese do not have surnames in the western sens (...)

Your website for tickets in Indonesia!
Looking for e-tickets for flights in Indonesia? Here's your solution! Order your e-tickets at
Add this page to your email, your own blog, MySpace, Facebook, or whatsoever via AddThis:
Bookmark and Share

Additional information, updates or feedback? Send them in!

Feedback Form

Created by · feedback & contact · © 2000-2021
Other websites by · · ·

151,111,365 pageviews Discover Indonesia Online at